100 Truths About Jesus: Smoking Gun -- 2

Comments

• C Mc
    C Mc Posts: 4,463

Coming soon, new thread, "I am" in the Bible. CM

• Coming soon, new thread, "I am" in the Bible. CM

"I am" is not a name or title of anyone. These two words are simply the pronoun "I" and the verb "am" (singular present tense form of "to be"). The words "I am" begin a statement by which someone identifies him-/herself in some form, such as "I am Wolfgang", "I am a musician", "I am happy", In response to a question, it would be, for example, "[Yes}, I am" or "I am [that person]", etc.

This is always the meaning, no matter who utters these words .... whether I, Wolfgang, or God (YHWH) says these words, the words always simply mean "I" and "am". Cp. Exo 20:1 ("I am the LORD thy God..."), or Exo 20:5 ("for I the LORD thy God am a jealous God"), or "I am German," Wolfgang said ... etc.

The words "I am" do not make anyone God, thus there is no need to avoid them in communication to try and be somehow especially devout or whatever else in that regard.

@C Mc .... "let us" not shoot ourselves in our own feet with a theological gun by following some obviously incorrect ideas 😉

• byGeorge
    byGeorge Posts: 194
    edited October 2021

@Wolfgang You seem to miss both Jesus and God at every turn.

Surely you understand about Ex 3:13-15 where God Himself explains the whole name thing. I Am in English may be a simple descriptive pronoun and being verb, but in Hebrew, אֶהְיֶה, as God explained it to Moses, the term was quite a different thing.

O Lord, our Lord (אֶהְיֶה /YHWH our Adonai), how majestic is your name in all the earth!”  Ps 8:1

“And those who know your name put their trust in you.” Ps 9:10

"...Then they will know that my name is the LORD [ אֶהְיֶה /YHWH].”  Jer 16:21

It is one thing to believe God exists, yet more to know something about Him, and best of all to know Him well enough to know His name.

• @Wolfgang You seem to miss both Jesus and God at every turn.