The Trinity not a big deal in Churches of Christ

>"Carter’s thesis is that we in the Restoration movement have a longstanding avoidance of explicit teaching about the triune nature of God. This problem can be traced directly back to the writings of Thomas and Alexander Campbell and Barton Stone, who laid the foundation for our tepid Trinitarianism.">

Comments

• Mitchell
    Mitchell Posts: 668

As an undergraduate, I attended a school associated with the 'restoration movement'. A number of congregations and branches within that movement claim to strictly follow the protestant mantra 'sola scriptura' or as I heard often stated 'back to the bible' or 'speak where Bible speaks and keep silent where the Bible is silent'.

I assume that Because the term 'trinity' is not to be found in the pages of scripture a number of members of the Chruches of Christ I met made no mention or reference to the Trinity. Those in the Churches of Christ that did mention it were quick to note that the term was an extra-Biblical one or one that never appeared in the Bible. In general, when they defined their belief in the Trinity the did so without using the term 'term' trinity or any extra-biblical theological terms for that matter.

All in all, I met people within the Churches of Christ that espoused a wide range of views on the subject, but the one that was consistent was a dedication to sticking with the text of Scripture.

• C Mc
    C Mc Posts: 4,463

Mitchell,

The christian has about four options if he accept Scripture as the Word of God, avoiding critical approaches such as suggestions that Scripture is culturally conditioned, reflects an evolutionary development of religious thought, or is relative in its statements and in its authority. Do you agree these four possible approaches?

1. First Approach: What Scripture Does Not Prohibit Is Allowed
    2. Second Approach: What Scripture Does Not Allow Is Prohibited.